## VILLAGE OF BISMARCK

County of Vermilion, State of Illinois Minutes of Special Board Meeting, September 23rd, 2022

- 1. At 5:30 p.m. in the Village office located at 106 E. Holloway, Bismarck, Illinois, President Brown opened the meeting with the Pledge of Allegiance.
- 2. Roll call was taken by Clerk Brandye Kizer. Board members present were Trustees Kris Kizer, Karel Volpert, Mary Potter, Jeff Beukelman, Terry Light and Sheila Switzer and President Mike Brown. Treasurer Adam Muehl was not required to be in attendance. A quorum was established. Guests in attendance were: Tyler Lappin and Dalton Pratt.
- **3.** Approval of agenda for September 23rd, 2022, was made on a motion by Trustee Kris Kizer, and seconded by Trustee Mary Potter. The motion passed by acclamation.
- 4. Public Comments/Questions: Mr. Tyler Lappin and Mr. Dalton Pratt introduced themselves and stated that they grew up in Bismarck and have moved into town. They both stated they would like to get more involved in the community. President Brown stated that the village meets every month on the 3<sup>rd</sup> Tuesday for regular meetings and the residents of the village are always welcome.

## 5. Reports of committees and assignments

a. President Brown presented the nominees for the Zoning Board of Appeals list based on what the board members shared as their recommendations. There were 5 individuals that were unanimous. There was one that had the 2<sup>nd</sup> to highest recommendations and then there were two nominees that were tied. President brown asked the Village Board to decide between the two that were tied. The Village board voted and they tied 3-3 for each individual. President Brown voted due to the tie to nominate the 7<sup>th</sup> individual. The 7 members that were nominated for the Zoning Board of Appeals were: Kent Westfahl; Debra Westfahl; Tyler Lappin; Judy Pendleton; Sherry Conklin; Russ Potter and Devin Pratt. The chairperson nominated was Russ Potter after discussion with the Board members. Trustee Jeff Beukelman made a motion to accept the recommendations of the 7-member board of appeals presented by President Brown, with a second made by Mary Potter. The motion passed by roll call vote.

Jeff Beukelman- Yea	Terry Light- Yea	Kris Kizer-Yea
Mary Potter- Yea	Karel Volpert- Yea	Sheila Switzer-Yea

6. Date and Time of Next Meeting – The next regular meeting of the Bismarck Village Board will be held at the Village Office in Bismarck, Illinois, at 6:30 p.m. on September 26<sup>th</sup>, 2022. Bills to be considered for payment and items for the agenda are to be submitted by September 13th, 2022, to Village Clerk and Village Treasurer.

7. Adjournment – With no further business to come before the Board at this time, upon motion by Trustee Mary Potter, with a second by Trustee Sheila Switzer, the meeting was adjourned at 5:55 p.m. The motion passed by acclamation.

Respectfully Submitted,

APPROVED 09/26/2022

Brandye Kizer, Clerk