VILLAGE OF BISMARCK County of Vermilion, State of Illinois Minutes of Special Board Meeting, September 7th, 2022

- 1. At 7:05 p.m. in the Village office located at 106 E. Holloway, Bismarck, Illinois, President Brown opened the meeting with the Pledge of Allegiance.
- 2. Roll call was taken by Clerk Brandye Kizer. Board members present were Trustees Terry Light, Kris Kizer, Karel Volpert, Mary Potter, Jeff Beukelman, and Sheila Switzer and President Mike Brown. Treasurer Adam Muehl was not required to be in attendance. A quorum was established. Guests in attendance were Matt and Kasey Creed; Russ Potter; Tyler Lappin; Billy Hagley; Tricia Hagley, Eric Siddens; Tim Hillard; Misty Hillard; and James Vincent.
- **3.** Approval of agenda for September 7th, 2022, was made on a motion by Trustee Karel Volpert, and seconded by Trustee Sheila Switzer. The motion passed by acclamation.
- 4. Public Comments/Questions: None

5. Reports of committees and assignments

a. President Brown submitted recommendation of the Planning Commission Committee Members to the Village Board. The Village does not currently have a planning commission committee and needs to re-establish this committee to move forward with any requests that are required to go through the planning commission. Trustee Karel Volpert asked that some names be added to the list of recommended members presented to President Brown. President Brown stated he reviewed the list of names and he provided the current names that he would recommend to have on the planning commission committee. The individuals that were not chosen for the planning commission committee will be recommended to the zoning board of appeals, if they are interested. Mayor Brown stated that the ordinance states that the President presents the recommendation of members and the Village Board will vote to approve. Trustee Sheila Switzer had concerns with a husband and wife serving on the same committee, she would like to see one on each committee. President Brown stated that there is not statute that says spouses cannot be on the same committee. Trustee Mary Potter had concerns with conflict of interest regarding one recommended member. Trustee Jeff Beukelman stated that the board needs to look past the issue at hand and think in the future, and that the Chairman of the planning commission committee would need to address those situations when they arise. The village board members voted to approve the recommended members of the new established planning commission committee presented and recommended by Mayor Mike Brown. The recommended 7-member committee nominees were: Tim Hillard; Misty Hillard; Tim Landers; Eric Siddens; Ryan Smalley; Zach Hagley; and Chairman Rick Kentner. The Village Board of Trustees approved the nominations of the above individuals with a motion by Trustee Terry Light and a second by Trustee Mary Potter. The motion passed by roll call vote, with Trustee Karel Volpert voting No.

Jeff Beukelman- Yea	Terry Light- Yea	Kris Kizer-Yea
Mary Potter- Yea	Karel Volpert- Nay	Sheila Switzer-Yea

b. President Brown stated that he would like to postpone on voting for the Zoning Board of Appeals as most of the residents who were on the list was under the impression it was for the planning commission. He would like to reach out to the residents that were not chosen, to see

if they are interested in being on the zoning board of appeals before nominating and approving the members.

- 6. Date and Time of Next Meeting The next regular meeting of the Bismarck Village Board will be held at the Village Office in Bismarck, Illinois, at 6:30 p.m. on September 20th, 2022. Bills to be considered for payment and items for the agenda are to be submitted by September 13th, 2022, to Village Clerk and Village Treasurer.
- 7. Adjournment With no further business to come before the Board at this time, upon motion by Trustee Terry Light, with a second by Trustee Kris Kizer, the meeting was adjourned at 7:38p.m. The motion passed by acclamation.

Respectfully Submitted,

APPROVED 9/26/2022

Brandye Kizer, Clerk